Undecidey!

26 Oct

Hello all,

After the last post, I had a little talk with one of my bridesmaids about wedding-related stuff. She mentioned that, as I’ll be turning 25 before I get married the next year after, they can get me some bridal stuff for my birthday! It’s an awesome idea, I just… have no idea what I want… (granted, my birthday is April 11 of next year – if I don’t know what I want then, I’m in some trouble…).

So after browsing through a bajillion websites, pondering over what I really want, I realised I have no idea what I do want. Which is hilarious!

You see, I was never the little kid who dreamed of getting married. I thought my mother looked stunning in her wedding photos, but was never one to think, “That’ll be me some day”. I was a tomboy – I ran around with my cousins pretending I was a Power Ranger. At another point we played imaginary “Mortal Kombat” (a fighting game, for those who don’t know). I spent most of my childhood daring and doing said dares, getting myself hurt in some of the most hilarious accidents ever (one involved a laundry chute…) and playing chicken with my garage door. At the age of 17, my cousin and I had a punching war at a party in a public restaurant. We punched each other’s fists to see which one backed out first (I think I won that time). I was the jar-opener in the family, the girl most likely to perform a dare if there was enough ‘encouragement’, and who never wore dresses or makeup.

And now, I’m getting married.

So I’m a little out-of-my-depth here. Granted, I’m the first to get married in my group of friends, a fact which all of them were only a little bit surprised about (I found out later they anticipated I would be the second person to get married in our group). I’ve never planned something as big as a wedding before. My 21st was a quiet night out with my friends, having a few drinks, and my graduation was very similar. I hate being in the spotlight, so being the bride is a really daunting, alien experience to me. I see this wedding as mine and GP’s wedding, but I get most of the attention, which is weird for me. I love planning this though, because I get to explore this creative side of me which I didn’t even think existed.

Anyway, getting to the point at hand.

Let’s talk veils. I’m not sure if GP should be reading this or not, so just in case: Mr. GP, IF YOU THINK THIS ISN’T APPROPRIATE FOR YOU TO READ, STOP HERE. IF YOU DON’T REALLY GIVE TWO TURDS ABOUT THE VEIL, KEEP READING! 😀

There we go, warning done.

So my veil. The very thing I’m undecided about. Most people say that, to pick the veil, you first need the dress. Which is true, I guess. A simple veil would suit a complex dress, an intricate veil suits a simple dress. I don’t have my dress yet, but I do like thinking about what kind of veil I’d want (it makes the choice a lot easier when it comes to decision-time). 

You see, I initially wanted a veil, but had a look at some pictures. The ‘poofy’ veil would look hideous on my face, so I was immediately turned off. I know most girls like the look because it gives them a ‘halo’, but my God, it would just make me look horrible. Add to this GP’s nonchalance about the whole veil thing (he doesn’t see the significance), and I was ready to just put the issue to bed.

And then my mum says I have to wear one. Don’t ask me why, she gave me no reason. She just said I had to. It must be an Asian-mum thing, because one of my other friends (who’s getting married in February) had her mother-in-law tell her she also had to wear a veil. Anyway, my mum wants me to wear a veil that goes over my face as I walk down the aisle – very typical wedding thing. But I hated the fullness of a two-tier veil (which are the veils you can wear which have a blusher – the part that goes over your face). Don’t even get me started on a three-tier veil…

And then  I saw the drop and mantilla veil.

The drop veil is basically a veil that has no ‘gather’ – the gather is the thing that gives the veil ‘poof’. As the name states, you simply ‘drop’ it on top of the head. It’s often fastened to the head by a hair pin being weaved between the hair and the veil. One website actually gives you a comb which allows easier fastening (www.occanseydesigns.com). The mantilla is similar, though it has lace edging all along. The drop veil is good for a complex dress. Most of the attention will be on the dress because the drop veil is mostly a sheer layer of tulle. The mantilla can be similar, but the lace edging is also a little more attention-grabbing.

As for length, I wanted it to be elbow or fingertip length. Being 5’0″ (149cm), I’m rather short. I will be wearing heels on the day, but… well… GP is 6’0″ tall. I’d have to wear 12-inch heels to reach his height (noooo thankyou!). So I will still be a lot shorter than him on the day. This also means certain veils (chapel-length – the reaaaaaaaaally long ones, for example) can make me look much shorter. So elbow or fingertip sounds about right. However, I saw some waltz (cascading) veils that looked cute. Basically they taper down to about the bum area, so it doesn’t go straight down the back. That might be an option too…

I bet I’m doing your heads in, talking all technical. I just don’t know what I want! I really should start trying on dresses with different veils when I can. That might narrow down my choices…

The Drop Veil, taken from http://www.weddingbee.com.au

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

