We look like badasses. The sign’s ok too I guess.

10 Aug

On the outset of the wedding, I wanted to make an Xbox Achievement sign. For those non-gamers who are interested, this is basically a sign that pops up when you’ve achieved a certain something while playing on the Xbox (for example, completing a mission/level). Mrs Toadstool had the right idea:

Achievement Unlocked :  wedding diy obregon mexico tutorial Toadstool

 Image via this fabulous post from Mrs. Toadstool. Photography via Alberto Alcorta Photography.

Well guys – I made one! You’ve probably seen it pop up every now and then. My one doesn’t look as good as Mrs Toadstool’s, however, this was the end result:

SS_20130724_0009

Photography via StudioSomething.

The sign was literally made the day before and the chalkboard marker we got for it was bought the day of the engagement shoot. I know guys, I’m crazy. Also, I’m disorganised. Also, I was in a country where I can’t drive since I don’t know where I’m going (and also, half the roads were closed!).

And now I’m making up excuses.

Basically, the above was a rush job and I was horribly disappointed with myself. If you look at the sign close up, you’ll be able to see the fugly edges on the chalkboard area of the sign (where it reads ‘engaged’).

Because I had to do it all at Mr Big’s parent’s house, I didn’t know where to look for certain materials, specifically, painter’s tape, otherwise known as masking tape. So improvising, I used a sheet of paper and sticky tape to make a ‘perfect’ rectangle. Unfortunately, the paint seeped underneath the paper, gooped up and tore some of the actual sign when Mr Big peeled off the paper. We did a quick shoddy job of using a marker to colour in those bits and just left it at that.

From afar the finished product looks great! I honestly don’t mind the mismatched blackboard area on the rest of the sign. But I really, really want to redo it! I’m such a horrible DIYer!

Talking about horrible DIY’ing, I recently sliced open my finger trying to do another DIY project. I’ll show you more of this project, but for now, here’s a picture of my injured finger!

ouchie_DIYfail

How do you take a selfie!? Like seriously. HOW!? / Personal image.

Does anyone have any tips or tricks for a horrible DIYer? Can anyone give me an idea on how to do a blackboarded version of this sign without having to do anything too complicated?

2 Responses to “We look like badasses. The sign’s ok too I guess.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Jam-Packed! | The Wedding Rollercoaster - October 19, 2013

    […] props we intend on making are an Xbox sign (which is proving difficult) and Marvel/Avengers and DC Comics props (read: Hulk masks, Iron […]

  2. To Program, or Not to Program | The Wedding Rollercoaster - November 21, 2013

    […] it may be a breathtaking failure, simply because my skills on a chalkboard aren’t fantastic, as evidenced earlier. I could always do it digitally, but I’d need to print it out through a printing website or a […]

Leave a Reply

