Dolling up.

22 Aug

I’m not a big jewellery-wearer. The only piece of jewellery I wore regularly was my Claddagh ring which Grant got for me on my 23rd birthday. I then got engaged on my 24th birthday and now the piece of jewellery I wear regularly is my engagement ring! I wear jewellery when I’m either going out on the town or there’s a special occasion, but otherwise, I’m very minimal.

So when it came time for me to get jewellery for my wedding, well, I had some time figuring out what to wear.

Originally, I was hoping to wear my mother’s ruby pendant and earring set. It matched the ruby on my Claddagh engagement ring. However, it was yellow gold. I’m not saying you can’t wear yellow gold with a wedding dress, it just doesn’t look as good. I only really changed my mind, however, when my mother suggested I wear another piece of jewellery of hers. This one was a silver necklace.

Unfortunately, it didn’t come with matching earrings.

That meant it was shopping time!

During a chilly April evening, I was out and about in Darling Harbour in the city. There, we passed by a shop called Lovisa. I accounted this shopping trip in a previous post. There I bought a few accessories and we called it a day. I was happy with my purchase, until yesterday, when I finally tried them on.

I know, I should’ve tried them on before, but I was silly and I didn’t. So that day, I did.

The necklace my mother gave to me looked gorgeous on me and sat at a nice height on my neckline. The bracelet I bought fit well as well. The earrings however were not to be desired.

You see, I have a small head and having lost some weight, my face has only managed to get smaller. So when I put on those earrings, it looked overwhelming on my head. I could feel my ear lobes struggling to hold those babies up! Even my mother saw that they weren’t exactly delicate on my head, and she suggested that maybe I should get another pair of earrings.

drop_earrings

The earrings were similar to (but not the same as) these ones!

 I then suggested that I should try on the earrings my father had bought for her.

wedding jewellery_2

My mother’s earrings. Aren’t they gorgeous!? // Personal image.

So I tried these babies on. They.were.gorgeous. I mean – wow. Just stunning. And plus – they didn’t totally overwhelm my head! I wanted to wear them on the day, but I believe my mother wanted to wear them. So I’m thinking of buying myself another pair! And just so I don’t bore you guys with my waffling on, here’s the entire set I’ll be wearing on the day:

wedding jewellery_1

 

I love that the silver had a hint of gold in it, and I LOVE that it’s my mother’s. It’s my official something borrowed!

As for my hair, I’m going to be using both of these:

wedding jewellery_3

For the ceremony… // Personal image.

IMG_1284

… To the reception. // Personal image.

And I’ll cap this post with a picture of the only piece of jewellery I wear religiously, and the second piece of jewellery which I WILL be wearing religiously after I’m married:

IMG_1343

Pardon the reflection of green in my ring. It’s highly reflective and I was wearing green 😉 // Personal image.

What do you guys think about my choices? Good or bad? 🙂

2 Responses to “Dolling up.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Something, something, something – A Look at Wedding Traditions | The Wedding Rollercoaster - September 18, 2013

    […] “something borrowed” was talked about in a previous post. Can’t remember? I’ll show […]

  2. [Part 2] Wedding Traditions: Something, Something. | The Wedding Rollercoaster - September 27, 2013

    […] “something borrowed” was talked about in a previous post. Can’t remember? I’ll show […]

Leave a Reply

