Give me your honest opinion – my hair and makeup trial

11 Sep

Warning: You WILL see my face all… fugged up because it was just a REALLY bad weekend for my skin…

Sunday started out nicely! We went to the Broke Fair. And no, it’s not because the fair was broken. The little town holding the fair was called Broke, and it was a nice morning of looking at all the animals, arts and crafts, and food and wine stands. They even had several jumping castles and a whole slew of classic cars! We bought some cookies, coffee, a delicious cooking oil, and reserved seats for out breakfast at Nightingale Wines.

We then headed off for Nightingale Wines. The breakfast there was pricey ($22!) but DELICIOUS. Fresh butter on toasted bread, eggs, bacon, sausages (that I actually enjoyed! I usually hate breakfast sausages), grilled tomato, and a golden hash brown. I had a(nother) cup of coffee and then we headed off the appointment at Gosford.

Unfortunately, GP delivered the news that we’ll probably be late, so I better give the hair/makeup team a head’s up. I texted them and then reception cut out. For an hour and a half, driving through pristine countryside, I was starting to get a little bit nervous. Not only was my face a mess (red and raw skin around my eyes, pimples, blotchy skin, you name it, I had it), but I feared that my tardiness would mean I had less time to talk to the team and get a feel for what they can do and them to get an idea about what I want.

We did make it Gosford, 15 minutes later from the appointment time (and I apologising profusely), and the trial was underway.

I met with Kirsty and Emma of Doubletake Makeup Artistry and Extreme Hair Salon respectively. They are two awesome, beautiful women with big personalities, so I was having a GREAT time. They accommodated to my skin, my hair and they were just SO nice. They made sure to choose products which they believed would ensure that my skin remain hydrated and happy. I actually felt good under their skills. I showed them my inspiration images, explained what I wanted, and they worked their magic.

Now before I continue, I’m going to divulge a little something to you fine folk.

I don’t think I’m attractive. Now, everyone has some self-esteem issues: they wish they could be taller, or thinner, or fairer, or tanner, but with me, it was always a bit of everything. I wished I was skinnier, I wished I was prettier, I wished my skin wasn’t so awful, blah, blah etc., etc.

This thinking was enhanced by the fact that, from all sides, I’ve been pestered and prodded to “lose more weight”, or “stop scratching”, or “do something about this”, or “do something about that”. I understand that scratching makes my skin worst, and I understand that eating chocolate can make me fat, but if I follow everything that everyone tells me to do, I wouldn’t be eating anything but cabbage and soup, and I’d be constantly irritated from the itch that I can’t scratch because I’m “not supposed to”.

What I’m trying to say here is, I’ve got a damaged self-esteem and body issues, and people make it harder for me cope with them. Add to that the fact that I was suffering from the “that time in a girl’s month”, and you can imagine how I felt. Essentially, my self-esteem was hair-trigger sensitive.

This is the before photo of my trial. You can probably see how bad my skin was that day. My skin was blotchy, my face was breaking out, my eyes were red and raw, and I was feeling tired and bloated.

So… I look pretty bad.

Before

Yeah, work that skin! (NOT) // Personal image

So… I look horrible there. Like, REALLY horrible. This was taken at about 12PM on the ride over to Gosford where I was to meet Kirsty and Emma for the trial.

When I got there, I showed them these two images:

Zhang Zhi Yi is a Chinese film actress   who achieved fame in the West after starring in Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, Rush Hour 2, House of Flying Daggers, and Memoirs of a Geisha. She has been nominated for numerous awards throughout her career.

For makeup // Image from listal.com

so elegant and timeless bride hair look!

For hair // Image from indulgy.com

And this is what I got:

After - in the salon

After – in the salon at about 3:30PM // Personal image

After - in the salon 3

Hair from behind // Personal image

Now, I actually liked the result.

The things that I think needed more adjustment were my eyes (they need a little more pop), my eyebrow (it’s sort of uneven…), and my fringe needs to be more “straight” and swept gently to the side instead of the wavy curls. Otherwise, I loved the look. I felt AWESOME.

Bridal Inspiration 2013: Artistic Boho Wedding Themes

The fringe I want – this is such a pretty picture // Image from tulleandchantilly.com

2 wedding makeup looks

The eyes I want // Image from statigr.com

Unfortunately, I didn’t seem to get the same reaction from others, which made me feel like maybe I didn’t look THAT good…

The only one who really thought I looked good was one person: GP, my fiancé. And I guess that’s all that matters, since I am marrying him.

What do you guys think? Any critiques you’d like to give? Should I “fringe” the hair or just pull it all the way to the back? What do you think I should do to my eyes? Feel free to give me your HONEST opinion!

6 Responses to “Give me your honest opinion – my hair and makeup trial”

  1. Julia September 11, 2013 at 12:01 #

    maybe try to sweep your fringe to the side, as the curly thing really doesn’t help – it looks messy. And messy is not a good look for a wedding. I think they should’ve started your part on the side and sweep it across and pin it down as it is quite long, but the bun looks great!

    With Michelle’s palette she chose for the eyes were fantastic very fresh and clean. I agree perhaps a more colour on the eyes.

    How many trials are you getting prior to your big day?

    • eichanist September 11, 2013 at 12:06 #

      Just the one, but I’m often in constant contact with the MUA/stylist 🙂

      I agree – a swept to the side fringe is cleaner and more romantic. The fringe was my fault (an afterthought after the stylist had swept back my hair). Thanks about the bun! I thought she did a pretty good job! 🙂

      I’ll definitely add more colour around the eyes. I need them to ‘pop’ a little more (not as much as my lips, but just ‘enough’). Thanks for the comments! 🙂

      • Julia September 11, 2013 at 12:24 #

        Sounds perfect!

        The stop motion video was great- you and your soon to be hubby are so cute!

        I hope you the bestest of days on your special day!

        maybe if your having skin issues to see the dermatologist and get that sorted before your big day if you haven’t already. It seems throughout your blog that is of a main concern. (I don’t want to come off as I know you more than you know yourself or sound like your relatives)

        Great job so far, can’t wait to see your photos for the special day!

      • eichanist September 11, 2013 at 12:33 #

        Thanks so much! 🙂 My soon-to-be hubby is the awesomest! (Not a word – but it’s a good not-a-word!).

        I’ve unfortunately been to a slew of dermatologists and they say the same thing 😦 So they’re basically just preaching to the choir at this point. I’ve been taking better care of my skin lately (facial wash, gentle pat down, moisturising three times a day, special creams, using oils, etc.) just that particular weekend (time-of-the-month lady moments, too much wine, stress, and tiredness) my skin decided to break out and be a complete douchface.

        Hopefully my skin doesn’t break out a few days before the wedding. That would be nice, hahah! 🙂

  2. Candice September 11, 2013 at 18:09 #

    agree with your changes! you look beautiful so pretty!!! more eye would be good (are you doing fake lashes?) and I think fringe would do double duty with looking cute and also hiding any bad skin you are worried about? I hate skin, why does it always know when to play up! hugs to you and looking forward to your big day!

    • eichanist September 11, 2013 at 18:14 #

      AW thankyou Candice! 🙂 I am doing fake lashes, so adding more oomph to the corners would likely give it more impact 🙂

      I totally agree with what you’re saying with the fringe – it’ll create some coverage for my skin and look super romantic!

      My skin is just ridiculous! I haaate it. Hopefully it behaves on the wedding day!

Leave a Reply

