Two is Better Than One

30 Sep

Hello people! This post will be pretty short, but something I’ve been mulling over since Saturday.

I mentioned in a previous post that my bridesmaids will be carrying parasols down the aisle. I’ll be holding a bouquet, but I’d ideally want a parasol as a “prop” during photo-taking.

They make for fabulous photos:

To the reception! An amazing shot by FS Photography

To the reception! / Image via Wedding Chicks, photography by FS Photography.

Now, originally, I was going to get this beauty:

cherry_blossom_parasol

Pretty cherry blossom! / Image via Chinatown Online Shopping.

It’s pretty, it’s ivory, it’s got cherry blossoms on it – a feature which has been predominant in our planning and invitations. With this as my parasol, my girls would be holding ivory parasols. The pictures, to me, would look gorgeous!

But then, Mr Big found this baby:

Shiny, innit? / Image via Think Geek.

For those of you who don’t know what that is, it’s Kaylee’s parasol. If you don’t know who Kaylee is, she’s a character off a sci-fi TV show called Firefly.

Firefly had a short, but awesome, run. Each episode was as good as the last, and each episode was filled with witty one-liners and awesome characterisation. This show was also the brainchild of one Mr Joss Whedon – the same guy who directed The Avengers.

Now for those who don’t know Mr Big and I very well, we’re very geeky. So having this parasol as the bridal parasol would just be spectacularly awesome! Not a lot of people will understand it, but my gosh, Mr Big and I will.

After a poll I did with friends, I got a resounding majority saying that I should just have both parasols. I thought about the pros and cons and decided that, yes it was a wee bit excessive, but both of them just suited the look and feel of the wedding: elegant and geeky. I could use the cherry blossom parasol with my girls, and the Kaylee-inspired parasol with Mr Big!

With that, I went in search of the right sort of parasol.

My search for a relatively inexpensive Kaylee-inspired parasol pulled up trumps. There was no one who sold it in Australia or were willing to get it shipped here. The shops in America which sold Kaylee-inspired parasols were eeeeexpensive.

Meanwhile, during my search for a Kaylee-inspired parasol, I stumbled on a much cheaper parasol with a cherry blossom motif. I polled both Mama Bighorn and Mr Big, and both stated that the cheaper parasol was actually much prettier and more fitting to our wedding then the one above. Yay! And so with that, I snatched it up. I also found they sold a plain white paper parasol for about the same price!

What’s with the plain white paper parasol?, I hear you ask.

Well guys, I decided to DIY the Kaylee-inspired parasol! More on that in the next post!

Who else decided that two was better than one when it came time to find props for the wedding? Who else is using, or has used, a parasol for wedding photography?

Leave a Reply

