And we’re baaaa~aaack!

25 Jun

Hi hive!

It’s been a while and I’ve missed you greatly. After a whirlwind two months off, I return with tales to tell, but most of all, recaps to recapitulate!

WP_20140417_19_05_47_Pro

Late night dinner on the balcony of our room while cruisin’. Guys, I totalled rocked that gown. / Personal image.

To those who don’t know who I am, hi, I’m Mrs Bighorn Sheep, an Australian who got married to a Kiwi (a person from New Zealand). My darling husband, Mr Big, and I got married at the Hunter Valley, a region two hours north of Sydney, New South Wales. We had our ceremony in a beautiful garden followed by a reception at a winery.

tamburlaine_cavanagh

Tamburlaine Winery from the lagoon. / Image taken from Polka Dot Bride, photography by Cavanagh Photography.

My husband (then fiancé) proposed to me in New Zealand at one of our favourite spots, Milford Sound, underneath a waterfall. During the planning of our wedding, I realised there wasn’t theme. Instead, we incorporated geeky elements with Chinese traditions, including a Chinese Tea Ceremony. I even managed to mix the Asian-flair with geek-chic by DIY’ing Kaylee’s parasol from the sci-fi TV show Firefly! Because of these Chinese traditions we couldn’t have a First Look, but instead would be doing an “Anti-First Look”. We also managed to incorporate bubbles,, things from Ikea, and even high-fives!

Ikea_SeriousShopping

Mr Big + Ikea = Serious Shopping! / Personal image.

My dress and veil were custom-made by an Australian designer, my bridesmaids’ dresses and the groomsmen shirts were ordered online, and the groom and groomsmen bought their suits locally. I wanted to ensure Mr Big kept his beard and glasses for the wedding, I had some trouble with my hair, and I complained about my stupid skin.

Our photographers were the bomb, our videographers were the shiz, and we generally loved our vendors. Some of our vendors were friendors! Our engagement photo shoot was done in Christchurch, New Zealand, where Mr Big was born and raised.

Our engagement stop-motion video! / Stopmotion and photographs by Studio Something.

When we got married, Mr Big cried and it was an amazing (but hot and sometimes stressful) day. I shared with you our Same Day Edit from our wonderful videographers, and some pre-wedding things including: delegating tasks and our wonderful friends who helped us out on the day; stuffing all that we possibly could into cars; the crapton of crap we had to do before the day; the rehearsal and the welcome dinner (also known as the meat after-party); and finally, spending some time with my girls.

Finally, the girls got pretty and the guys got ready!

And we’re caught up! Next, the former-Miss Big puts on her bridal finery! Let’s get this party (re-)started guys!

recap-logo

TL;DR? Catch up here!

Leave a comment