Takin’ Love by the Horns: Pulling the Wool Over His Eyes

30 Jun

Last I left you guys: I was in my dress, feeling fabulous; the girls were all dressed up; and my groom and his men were dressed to the nines. As I was inside, being fed jam on toast by BM Proper, Mr Big was outside with MC Chupacabra, and this was happening:

20140119_EileenGrant_90

Yep, Mr Big was getting blindfolded.

For those who’ve just joined us, and have no idea what is happening, I point you to this post.

In summary: for our wedding, Mr Big and I needed to perform a Chinese tradition where he needed to “pick me up” from my parents’ house at a set-time (11AM). This set time is considered “auspicious”. However, in order to be let out, my older sister (MoH M&MS) has to cut a ribbon from over the threshold of the house (i.e. the doorway). This is very similar to the “Giving Away” tradition in Western weddings, but in reverse. Also, as I am marrying before my older sister, she needs to “give me permission”, so to speak. I then gift MoH M&Ms and Mr Big guides me out. TADAH, that’s the tradition.

Unfortunately, there were a few issues with this, as recounted in the above-linked post. In short, we decided the best solution was to blindfold Mr Big.

Doesn’t he look cute with his blindfold?

20140119_EileenGrant_91

At that point, inside the house, I was getting grilled given a very brief, very last-minute explanation on what was going to happen (even though I had requested said information for months beforehand). To this I can only give a long sigh and implore, implore, you guys to get as much information as early as possible. I was literally told on the day by Mama Bighorn’s side of the family (my aunties and uncles, who I love, but they really should have given us information beforehand):

  • Mr Big had to have my bouquet.
  • My parents could not be present at all during the whole thing (they were hiding upstairs, it was kinda hilarious).
  • I had to lead Mr Big to the door (no one told me this, so there was a brief awkward silence before I had an EFF IT moment and dragged him to the front of the house).

I was exasperated guys. Exasperated.

Anyway! My family disappeared and MC Chupacabra led Mr Big carefully into my parents’ temporary “home”, the villa at the Crowne Plaza, where I was waiting. He was holding my beautiful bouquet:

20140119_EileenGrant_92

Who here sees the Bees?

As he made it up to me, I stood, took his hand so that he knew where I was (remember guys, he can’t see) and I felt my heart beating wildly against my chest.

I had seen him in the suit a million times, but this time it was very real. We were going to be married in a few moments time, and he was looking extremely handsome. I vividly remember clutching his hand and just shakily saying hi to him. He was as calm as a cucumber (which is ironic, since he hates cucumbers).

20140119_EileenGrant_93

See what I mean? He looks calm, I look nervous! Also notice the gift, that’s for MoH M&Ms.

20140119_EileenGrant_94

We chatted for a little bit afterwards, and then after some awkward ‘WTF do we do now’, I grabbed his hand, gave it a tremendous squeeze, and lead him outside. At the door, Groom’s Homie Oddball and my cousin were waiting, a ribbon splayed over the door.

It was then that I gifted MoH M&Ms and she cut the ribbon.

20140119_EileenGrant_95

And with that, we were free!

20140119_EileenGrant_96

Except, of course, for one more thing. As you all may know from my posts, Chinese culture requires that the child respect the parent in a fashion that some may think is a little bit formal. But as were the requirements of my culture, Mr Big and I respected our elders, particularly my parents, by doing this:

20140119_EileenGrant_97

Yes folks, we bowed. And then Mr Big celebrated.

20140119_EileenGrant_98

It was at that time, though, that we needed to get going. It was ceremony time! Unfortunately, things did not go to plan on my end…

[All photos by the fabulous Studio Something.]

recap-logo

Need to catch up?

Leave a comment