Takin’ Love by the Horns: Sending All My Love To You

2 Jul

In my last post I showed you guys our “ribbon-cutting ceremony”, where we blindfolded Mr Big. As this finished, our timetable told us that we needed to get to our civil ceremony at the Hunter Valley Gardens. While Mr Big and I were still at the villa, our guests had started to arrive.

20140119_EileenGrant_107

20140119_EileenGrant_110

20140119_EileenGrant_108

Mr Big arrived a moment later, positioning himself with his groomsmen at the front of the aisle. We had music playing for our guests during this time – some which people may think are untraditional choices:

20140119_EileenGrant_120

20140119_EileenGrant_111

Meanwhile, at the villa, and already approximately 15 minutes late already, I was beginning to panic that we hadn’t left yet. Everyone and their mum assured me it was ok for the bride and groom to be a little bit late to their wedding, but Mr Big had already left and I was stuck waiting. At first, I felt bad inconveniencing our guests and vendors like this, but as it was culturally important, everyone assured me it would be ok.

But time was getting further and further away, and I was still at the villa.

Luckily for me, Papa and Mama Bighorn saw the look of absolute fear and anguish in my eyes that I would be late to my own wedding, and gently ushered me into the car, telling me that they would handle it. I’m not too sure what they did, but after a harrowing five minutes, we were underway, all the while Papa Bighorn cheering me up as he drove.

When we finally got to the ceremony site, things happened quickly.

Waiting at the gate was a golf cart, the driver ready to take me up quickly to the Waterfall Outlook with my parents. After a short ride (thank God for that golf cart), I saw my bridesmaids who were looking relieved that I had finally arrived.

20140119_EileenGrant_114

Yes guys, that is a Ferris Wheel behind them. No, we didn’t get to ride it. BOO!

After a short apology, the wedding coordinator gave me a brief nod and I heard the music start. Now, you guys may or may not remember, but my tastes in music aren’t really conventional. We decided pretty early on that our music would suit our tastes, and so I present to you, our processional song.

Because the song was rather long, and my bridal party wasn’t too big, we decided it would be played for all the bridesmaids and myself. So first off, my girls came down the aisle:

20140119_EileenGrant_121

20140119_EileenGrant_122

20140119_EileenGrant_125

20140119_EileenGrant_124

What you can’t see through the photos was that they were holding parasols all the way down the aisle up until the stairs. As they went down the stairs, they closed the parasols (like MoH M&Ms is doing) and then placed them at their sides as they formed up.

20140119_EileenGrant_138

The girls were amazing throughout the day! But enough with my ranting, let’s get back on track.

After my girls were lined up (as above), I came down the aisle with both of my parents. I knew, from the beginning, that this is what I wanted to do. Both of them play a huge part in my life and I wanted to honour them both.

As we prepared to walk down the aisle, I was nervous! My stomach was in twisted knots and I was terrified I would trip, stumble, or worst – cry! But as I linked arms with both of my parents, our coordinator signalled us to walk down the aisle, and we turned the corner, I saw Mr Big waiting there for me.

20140119_EileenGrant_126

And I know this sounds cliché, but my nervousness disappeared, replaced with a calm excitement.

20140119_EileenGrant_128

Mr Big was looking something like this:

20140119_EileenGrant_127

Folks, this picture and the one of both my parents and I walking down the aisle are two of my very favourites.

As we reached the front and I finally caught a glimpse of Mr Big’s face, I felt my heart explode with happiness. I couldn’t help the smile.

20140119_EileenGrant_129

Meanwhile, Mama Bighorn was finding it hard to hold it together.

20140119_EileenGrant_130

After I gave both of my parents a strong hug, and Mama Bighorn a quick kiss, they took their seats, leaving me standing at the front of the aisle. With Mr Big in front of me, tears in his eyes, I felt a giddy surge of energy run through me.

20140119_EileenGrant_139

We were getting married guys! Up next – the ceremony!

[All photos by Studio Something.]

 

recap-logo

Need to catch up?

Leave a comment